Keynote speakers

Professor Xu Zhang received his PhD. from Tongji University in 1997 and has been actively involving in teaching and researching on heat, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) for more than 30 years. He is the director of the Institute of HVAC Engineering at Tongji University.

He has been appointed as the Director of the Sub-committee of Air Conditioning of China Committee of Heating, Ventilation & Air-conditioning (CCHVAC), and General Secretary and Vice Chairman of Shanghai Society of Refrigeration (SSR).

He has authored or co-authored for more than 400 journal papers in either English or Chinese, and played key roles in many national projects and standards.

He is the former chair of the 7th International Symposium on Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning (ISHVAC 2011) and former chair of the 11th International Conference on Industrial Ventilation (Ventilation 2015).

Dirk Müller started his scientific career after finishing his studies of mechanical engineering at RWTH Aachen University and the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth. After completing his doctorate, he worked at the Robert Bosch GmbH in the central research department and at Behr GmbH as process manager for simulation.

In 2003 he became a University Professor at the TU Berlin, and until 2007 he was head of the Hermann Rietschel Institute. In 2007 he has been assigned as director for the new Institute for Energy Efficient Buildings and Indoor Climate (EBC) at the E.ON Energy Research Center.

Besides this full professorship at RWTH Aachen University Dirk Müller is director of the Institute of Energy and Climate Research, Energy Systems Engineering (IEK-10) at the Forschungszentrum Jülich.

In addition to his research and teaching activities Dirk Müller served as Chief Technology Officer of the TROX GmbH from 2011 to 2015. Since 2016, he is responsible for the accompanying research ”Energy in Buildings and Districts” for the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy and he took up the position of the managing director of the Heinz Trox Wissenschaftschafts gGmbH.

Assoc. Prof. Pawel Wargocki graduated from Warsaw University of Technology. He received his PhD from the Technical University of Denmark, where he has been teaching and performing research ever since. He has more than 20 years of experience in research on human requirements in indoor environments.

He is best known for his seminal work demonstrating that poor indoor environmental quality affects performance of office work and learning. Other work influenced requirements for ventilation and air cleaning. Recent research includes studies on emissions from humans, on sleep quality and on performance of green buildings.

He has collaborated with leading research institutions, universities, and industrial partners around the world such as National University of Singapore, Jiaotong University in Shanghai, Syracuse Center of Excellence, United Technologies and Google. He was President and long-standing board member of the International Society of Indoor Air Quality and Climate (ISIAQ), Vice President of Indoor Air 2008, and Chair of ASHRAE committees.

He has received several awards for his work including Rockwool Award for Young Researchers, ASHRAE Ralph Nevins Award, ISIAQ’s Yaglou Award and Best Paper Award in Indoor Air. He is the secretary of Academy of Indoor Air Sciences. Published extensively.

Jarmo Suominen is professor at Aalto university in Finland and Tongji university in Shanghai, China. He has also been working with Massachusetts Institute of Technology since 1999, in various appointments and programs. Currently Jarmo is the vice director of MIT City Science Labs in Aalto and Tongji. At Aalto university, he was the director of Future Home research institute until 2014, after he was appointed as executive director at Sino Finnish Centre, Tongji Shanghai and nominated by China State Administration of Foreign Experts Affairs (SAFEA) as High-end Foreign Expert to Tongji University. He is now also the Program director of environmental design program at College of Design and Innovation, Tongji University.

He has more than 20 years of experience in research on user oriented solutions in design and planning. He is internationally known for his work on service oriented solutions in architecture and real-estate. He has been awarded internationally innovations especially from his contributions on the field of education, most lately for the “school as a service” solutions, namely Finnish National award for innovation and Mayors award and City of Espoo medal for innovation on 2016. He also received International award for innovation in Prague at 2017, and the same solution was evaluated as a best learning community in Espoo at 2017.

Opening keynote speaker

Jussi Aho is passionate about developing new ways of doing business together. He has more than 15 years of experience as a CEO in fast growing companies. Jussi is one who builds better cities and societies, who cares about his customers and employees, and who leads his business with high morals and strong values.

Jussi is a Civil Engineer (MSc) from the University of Oulu, and in 2008 he did a visiting research scholar at the University of Central Florida in the U.S. Jussi’s story with Fira began in 2002 when he co-founded the company. After that he was a Member of the Board during 2002-2008 until he took over as the CEO in 2009. Fira is combining traditional construction business with new business models, technology, service concepts and start-ups, and growing rapidly.

Jussi has also several Board responsibilities and is a sought-after speaker.